top of page
  • Writer's pictureZiad El Shurafa

5 Reasons I love to Travel to Montenegro

Updated: Jan 11, 2019

Montenegro, or the Black Mountain is a beautiful European, Mediterranean-like country with a Middle Eastern vibe, formerly part of Yugoslavia.





There are many reasons to love Montenegro, but I will only list the top 5 reasons why I love this space. If you read between the lines you will find many reasons why this place is a great destination to visit, even settle and live there if you can.

“Do you have a design in mind for your blog? Whether you prefer a trendy postcard look or you’re going for a more editorial style blog - there’s a stunning layout for everyone.”



1) Beautiful Historical and Natural Scenery:

This Balkan country is famous for its historical medieval towns that are still intact. As a matter of fact, people still live in the old medieval fortified city of Ulcinj (pronounced Ulcin).

The nature is awesome as well. Beautiful mountains, rivers and canyons, lush forests and, the clearest lakes I have ever seen in my life.


Montenegro crystal clear lakes

2) Montenegro is super cheap for tourists:

When I was in Montenegro last year my friends where renting one bedroom apartments for 18 US per night. These apartments had everything you need. The cost of living in Ulcinj for instant is very affordable and suitable for the budget-travelers.


3) Beautiful beaches on the Adriatic Sea.

When I travel I like to go to the beach at least once. Montenegro has beautiful beaches indeed. It is nothing like the Caribbean but still a nice experience with mountains, medieval towns and forests overlooking the beaches.


Montenegro beach

4) The Sea Food is spectacular

Whenever I travel to a new destination I try to sample the local food and stay away from fast food or none authentic dishes. This way I can find out about the local culture and taste something unique. Here is a video that reviews the seafood in Montenegro:



5) The People of Montenegro:

Montenegrins are based on old traditions and customs. They are very hospitable and friendly. If a friend from Montenegro invites you for dinner, expect to over eat as they will not stop feeding you until you almost fall a sleep. One thing I noticed about them is they hate traffic rules! Enjoy and stay safe.


Ziad EL Shurafa





20 views0 comments
bottom of page