top of page
  • Writer's pictureZiad El Shurafa

Cost of Living in Moldova

I was asked by some of my followers to put a different spin on my articles about traveling. When I visit a new place I tour restaurants, museums, different attractions, shopping malls & markets, hotels, theaters and other destinations. Naturally I also buy things like souvenirs as gifts for my family and friends and something to remember about these places I visit.


Moldova Cost of Living
Moldova Cost of Living

My followers asked me to highlight the costs involved in vising different places. When I talk with locals I do get some information about the cost of living in each place. So here we go, I will try to keep a record of the costs of living in each place I visit. This time I will outline some costs about Moldova, but since I am going by what I remember, the numbers might not be very accurate.


First lets talk about the Moldova currency. The Moldovan Lue is the currency of Moldova. Usually if you exchange one American Dollar, in return you get roughly 17 Moldovan Lues. The abbreviation for the Moldovan Lue is MDL. Moldova is relatively much cheaper than USA, Europe and Canada. Here is a short list of the costs to buy different things in Moldova:


- Local average meal 100 MDL

-McDonalds meal 80 MDL

-Water 10 MDL

-Coke 12 MDL

-Loaf of fresh bread 7 MDL

-12 eggs 22 MDL

-Oranges (1Kg) 25 MDL

-Cappuccino 25 MDL


-Local transport 2 MDL

-Taxi ride for 5 Km 45 MDL


-Tennis court rental (1 hour) 190 MDL

-Movie Theater 100 MDL


-1 bedroom appartment rent (month) 5000 MDL

On my next trip to anywhere I travel will be more comprehensive.



Ziad El Shurafa

13 views0 comments
bottom of page